Daily Bread

I must end my day with scripture because neither my life nor those lives around me are perfect. We all need guidance.

God wanted to show Satan how strong Job’s faith in him was, so God allowed Satan to test Job. All of Job’s camels,oxen and donkeys were stolen, his sheep were set ablaze by fire from heaven and his family were all wiped away by a gust of wind.

InitiallyJob kept his faith and did not sin by cursing God for what happened in his life. He only fell to knees and worshipped God saying,

“I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave. The Lord gave me what I had, and the Lord has taken it away. Praise the name of the Lord!”

The second test that Job was challenged with resulted in his deteriorating health. Job was struck with boils from head to toe. After that, Job began to resent his life and wished he’d never been born. Bildad, Job’s friend told him,

Job 8:1-7
“Does God twist justice? Does the Almighty twist what is right? Your children have sinned against him, so their punishment was well deserved. But if you pray to God and seek the favor of the Almighty, and if you are pure and live with integrity, he will surely rise up and restore your happy home. And though you started with little, you will end with much.”

God tests our faith everyday. Just as He gives for our own good, he also takes away for the exact same reasons. We associate loss with sorrow and often forget that sometimes even losing something or someone can turn out to be a blessing in disguise.  I’ve learned that I must still worship the Lord even if all is taken away from me and it seems like there is no replenishment in sight.

At the end of the day, God is still in control and we must learn to give thanks, even for the things we’ve lost.

Tell Me You Thoughts!

